Development Trust gets go ahead for Cameronian Memorial Sculpture
Naming ceremony of The Cameronian Roundabout in November 2018
Lanark Community Development Trust has been successful in raising funds to create a memorial sculpture dedicated to The Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) next to the newly named ‘Cameronian Roundabout’ at the Winston Barracks in Lanark.
The project’s two major funders are the Renewable Energy Fund and the Border Biscuits Community Support Fund. The project has also received financial backing from Tunnocks, The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders, members of The Cameronian Friends and Family Association, Lanark Rotary Club and Springfield Homes. Additional support was received from PLANterra, a local architectural firm, who assisted with the project drawings and planning permission submission for the sculpture.
The first phase of the project took place in November 2018, when ‘The Cameronian Roundabout’ naming ceremony took place as part of Lanark’s Remembrance Weekend events. Present at the ceremony were members of The Cameronians Friends and Family Association, the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders, Lanark Community Development Trust, local councillors and representatives from local churches.
The memorial sculpture is expected to be erected in the spring of 2019, and along with the roundabout naming, will form a fitting tribute to the soldiers based at the Barracks and serves to highlight an important aspect of Lanark’s heritage as well as improving the visual aesthetics of one of Lanark’s main gateways for visitors.
In conjunction with the memorial sculpture, a booklet will be created with information on The Cameronians and their time in Lanark whilst based at the Winston Barracks. There will also be a public exhibition in The Tolbooth in late spring 2019, showcasing a range of historic photographs and archive material relating to the regiment.
Councillor Catherine McClymont, part of the Cameronian Memorial Project Team said “We are delighted to have raised the funds to create the Cameronian memorial sculpture. It has been fascinating being involved in the project and learning more about the history of the regiment and their time in Lanark. The sculpture, along with the booklet and exhibition are ideal opportunities for local people and visitors to discover more about Lanark’s rich heritage”.
Although local men from Lanark & Clydesdale had always served in the Cameronians, it was not until 1947 that the Regiment once again had a direct connection with Lanark. In 1936, £150,000 was set aside for the construction of a new headquarters for the Scottish Rifles. Building began at Lanark in late 1939 and the newly named Winston Barracks were completed by 1941.
The Cameronians did not take up occupancy until after the war, because until that time the Barracks were used by a number of training units. When they finally arrived in 1947 the Town Council unanimously approved that the Regiment be awarded the Freedom of the Burgh.
For updates on the Cameronian Memorial project please visit www.lanarktrust.co.uk or keep up to date on the Development Trust’s Facebook page www.facebook.com/LanarkCDT