Your online local news from Lanark

Lanark’s magnificent seven receive their Burgess Tickets

This year’s ceremony was held at Greyfriars Parish Church. Photo courtesy of John Prior

The Royal Burgh of Lanark Community Council presented seven Burgess Tickets to this year’s hard-working recipients to celebrate their achievements in the town.

The tradition was revived by the Community Council in 2013 and runs in partnership with The Lanark Website, which is used to collate votes easily and quickly.

Burgess Ticket holders are nominated by local residents and put forward to a judging panel for selection.

This year’s recipients are: Marianne Bond, Julie Brown, Molly Cumming, Lynne Leslie, Catherine McClymont, Jane Pillans and Anne Elizabeth Thomson.

Frank Gunning, chairman of the Royal Burgh of Lanark Community Council, was delighted to host another successful event.

Writing in his column for The Lanark Website, he said: “This year’s ceremony was conducted in the newly refurbished and quite splendid Greyfriars Church, now equipped to serve as a community facility for such purposes, as well as a place of worship and was packed to capacity for our fifth, going on 840th, Burgess Ticket Awards.”