Your online local sport by Millar Stoddart

Lanark United re-sign eight plus six new faces for new season

The Yowes are looking to seal promotion from the Central District Second Division

Lanark United have retained eight players from last season’s side including goalkeeper Gareth Halford, last season’s player of the year.

Stuart Annetts, Paul Burns, Shaun Gallagher, Dale Gordon, Ronan Kearney, Jordan Munn and Peter O’Donnell have all agreed to another term at the Moor Park club.

Defender Jamie Brophy joins from Shotts Bon Accord and forward Martin Hannaway arrives from Clydesdale rivals Forth Wanderers.

Goalkeeper Johnny Duncan has made the switch from Cambuslang Rangers.

United manager John Brogan has delved into the amateur ranks to sign Kyle Gillespie, Darren Sneddon and Jack Stubbs from Blantyre Celtic, Wishaw and Eddlewood respectively.

Alan Christie undergone knee surgery on Wednesday to repair his torn cruciate ligament suffered against Ashfield in April, but faces up to nine months on the sidelines.

Lanark have lost forward David O’Donnell to Fauldhouse United while defender Cameron Lawson has signed for newly-promoted Super League First Division side Cambuslang Rangers and defender Kieran McGurk has opted to play amateur football next season.

Andy Creilly has also left and club stalwart David Collins could be forced to quit due to work commitments.